A to Z Challenge… Day 1, Letter A- Adventure Time on Cartoon Network, Have you heard of it?

Standard

Today’s the day! ( Well not for me, I did post this March 31st :0)  It’s April first and the start of the A to Z challenge! With the letter A to use, my topic for today is about a show that my kids (even my hubby) can’t seem to pull themselves away from whenever I call them.

The show is called Adventure Time.
Heard of it? Yes? No? Well for those who have not, allow me to clue you in (you may not like it, but then again you may) on what this show is all about and what keeps the kids tuned in.

These are the facts (thanks to Wikipedia) of Adventure Time and how it came to be:
This American animated television series was created by Pendleton Ward and produced by Federator Studios for Cartoon Network in 2010. It was created based on a short made for Nickelodeon called Random! Cartoons. That had become a viral hit on the internet. So with that good ol’ Cartoon Network decided to pick it up for a full-length series that made its preview on March 10, 2010 and officially appeared for their audience on April 5th 2010.

It of course became a success (and I can understand why, keep reading) and FYI it is rated PG for TV. Here’s the background of this show; it takes place on a fictional continent called the “Land of Ooo”. Which stated on Wikipedia was never “officially” stated in the show. It’s supposed to take place in a post- apocalyptic world sometime after a nuclear war called the “Great Mushroom War”. According to Ward (the creator) the show takes place “after the bombs have fallen and magic has come back to the world”.

Now let me introduce you to the Main characters:
First there is Finn the human (more FYI- voiced by Zack Shada in the pilot short, where is name was “Pen”, but then later voiced by Jeremy Shada in the TV Series) is a fourteen year old boy who loves nothing more than going on adventures and saving the day. He wears this white hap, hood, or cap (whatever you want to label it) that he calls his “awesome hat” to (apparently) cover his long wavy blonde beautiful locks for safe keeping. Some more FYI-His hair does get cut in one episode, then grows back, then short again and last ending long again, but only to shoulder length (I have no idea why this was, ask the writers). His demeanor was described being prone to strange exclamations and outbursts.

Then there is Jake the Dog (voiced by John DiMaggio), which to me he is Finn’s side kick. But let me tell you his “official” label via our fellow friend Wikipedia– He’s Finn’s best friend and is twenty- eight years old (does not act like it though). He has magic powers that allows him to stretch and shrink any part of his body to any size (he can get ginormous). He is supposed to be the confidant and mentor to Finn although he tends to give some sketchy advice. Jake has a laid back attitude and loves adventures just like his friend Finn. He will eagerly fight when he is needed alongside Finn.

And now on to the reoccurring characters that help make the show(These are going to be very brief by the way):
 Princess Bonnibel (Bubblegum)- she is a bubblegum/human hybrid of a girl (yes this is really real) and rules Candy Kingdom.
Lady Rainicorn- She is half unicorn and half rainbow aka rainicorn. I do not recall her, so by the description I am thinking she looks like a rainbow unicorn? She can turn objects and people into different colors.

The Ice King- He’s the main antagonist of the series and is about 1,000 years old. He frequently steals princess around the world of Ooo to forcefully marry them. Princess Bubblegum is his main target.
Marceline the Vampire Queen- She is a 1,000 year old vampire girl who can play the bass guitar and jams with the guys from time to time. This vampire reveals that Vampires actually suck, but only drink the red color out of things to live on (does this still mean people? I don’t know).
 Lumpy Space Princess- (LSP for short) is the princess of Lumpy Space, an alternate dimension. Like all her people, LSP is an extraterrestrial creature who looks like a floating purple cloud with arms and a face. (Will have to see it to believe it, I guess).
Beemo (a.k.a. BMO)- Is a robot created by Finn and Jake that looks like a game console. He can change into household objects, such as a camera, alarm clock and VCR, to name a few. Beemo can transport people into a video game by pressing a button on its face. He speaks English with an eastern Asian accent.
So from just the characters descriptions alone, I don’t think I need to tell you that this is quite the cartoon series. The two main characters Finn and Jake go on the strangest adventures mingling with one or more of the reoccurring characters and wow! Strange things transpire! There are no words to describe the creativity behind this show or any specific label that tell you what the shows stories are all about (at least to me), but I can tell you one thing, it is entertaining! I myself can get caught up in a show from time to time (however, I do leave scratching my head over it).

As for my kiddos and their Dad, it is still like pulling teeth to get even one eye to dart a glance in my direction while this show is on.
So for those of you who have not heard of the great show called “Adventure Time” (yeah right) here’s your warning label.
Warning: This show can cause lack of chore completion, lack of exercise and possible lack of breathing.

You have been warned.
A.D.

P.S. Remember to click on the pic to the right to check out the other great blogs participating in the challenge!

P.S. S.  Totally Tawn- the Universe through my eyes mentioned me in her blog, how sweet! Click here to read what she wrote and get some really great advice on ATTITUDE!

http://bit.ly/HK0LT2

About A.D. Duling

A.D. Duling enjoys writing books filled to the brim with magic,adventure and of course romance. She writes Paranormal romance and Urban fantasy novels. The paranormal has always captured her interest and who doesn't love romance? Sometimes its just fun living in fantasy rather than reality. When she's not writing about werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature she would think of (oh and she would!), A.D. loves painting Folk Art, reading, spending time with family, and running slowly. A.D. lives in sunny Florida with her husband,six children (yes that was not an error) three dogs, two guinea pigs, two turtles and a few fish. Whew! Want to read more about her? Go to www(dot)adduling (dot) com and find out more! Her books: Anna Kippling Series The Key The Tokens The Stones The Battle Evie Patterson Series One of Them The Other Vampire Molly Woodhaven Series Mr. Pickett and his sailing Adventure The Three Witches and the Spellbook

11 responses »

  1. Even though my grand kids are teenagers, I will watch this show! And I am so impressed….you already wrote all your April blogs? You must be a super organized person.

    • No, I haven’t written them all, only picked my topics (well except 2),but am trying to stay ahead of the game. :0) I Thank you for your comment Natalie!

  2. Pingback: The Blogging A to Z Challenge: An Unsanctioned Imitation – Day 1: A is for Attitude « totallytawn

  3. I think this show is hilarious, and I have only seen trailers and random episodes when I have access to Cartoon Network at the right times (I don’t have cable).

  4. I was very happy to uncover this website. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every part of it and I have you saved as a favorite to look at new things on your blog.

    Can I simply say what a comfort to find someone that truly knows what they’re discussing on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular given that you definitely have the gift.

    Excellent post. I definitely appreciate this website. Continue the good work!

    It’s difficult to find educated people for this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the internet. I’m going to recommend this site!

    A fascinating discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you ought to publish more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but usually people do not discuss such topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

    Good day! I simply want to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent information you’ve got here on this post. I am coming back to your site for more soon.

    When I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment. There has to be a way you can remove me from that service? Appreciate it!

    The next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read, but I really thought you would probably have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you could fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

    Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely believe this site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

    You’re so cool! I don’t think I have read something like this before. So nice to find another person with a few unique thoughts on this subject matter. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with some originality!

    I love reading through an article that can make people think. Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

    This is the right blog for anybody who hopes to understand this topic. You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject which has been discussed for many years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

    Aw, this was a very nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to create a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I found this in my hunt for something regarding this.

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am having difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody having the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who was conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me breakfast because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this subject here on your web site.

    After checking out a handful of the blog articles on your web site, I really like your technique of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website too and let me know how you feel.

    This site definitely has all of the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    There is definately a lot to know about this topic. I love all the points you made.

    You have made some decent points there. I checked on the net for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day. It’s always helpful to read articles from other authors and practice something from their websites.

    I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

    Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article. Thanks for supplying this information.

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post! It is the little changes which will make the most significant changes. Many thanks for sharing!

    Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this information to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

    Hi, I believe your blog could be having web browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful site!

    Having read this I believed it was really enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this informative article together. I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

    I need to to thank you for this good read!! I definitely loved every bit of it. I have you saved as a favorite to look at new stuff you post…

    Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it ;) I may come back yet again since i have book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this blog.

    I was able to find good info from your blog posts.

    Good article! We will be linking to this great post on our site. Keep up the great writing.

    That is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Brief but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read post!

    I could not resist commenting. Well written!

    Saved as a favorite, I love your blog!

    Excellent post. I will be dealing with many of these issues as well..

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and the rest of the website is also really good.

    Great site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    This is a topic which is near to my heart… Best wishes! Exactly where are your contact details though?

    I truly love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you build this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own website and want to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Kudos!

    I love it whenever people get together and share thoughts. Great site, continue the good work!

    Very good info. Lucky me I came across your site by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

    This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Cheers!

    Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your site is very useful. Thanks for sharing!

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own site now ;)

  5. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.

    I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you later
    on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site
    now ;)

Leave a Reply

