Attention: Blog post about Books, Writing Tips & Other Random Stuff that Suits my Fancy…Maybe Yours?

Standard

Here she goes again? Yep that is the title of my blog, so of course… here I go again.

I am a writer (Thank you Author Jeff Goins) and as a writer, posts and articles about writing will of course catch my I (or is that eye?) I want tips, recommends, inspiration and just plain fun when it comes to what comes with the word writing. Being that your here you are either a reader (well of course, you are reading this) or a writer who wants the same thing (well for the reader, some of the same thing).

Being that my thoughts are random, of course be prepared for random things to follow this sentence. Here we go…

Character development. Where do your characters come from? Need some tips on that? Novel Publicity has just that. Here’s a taste of what Ria Majumdar had to say.

1. Writing yourself

“Go for this source if you are absolutely sure that you can be objective about the flaws (in you/your character). Because if done well, this is the best source to tap from. Hey, don’t tell me I am the only lazy writer who doesn’t like to do an extensive back story for her characters.”

Click on the link above to read more great tips on that Character development from Ria.

Having trouble pacing yourself in writing that novel? Novel Publicity has some advice on that as well.  Cynthia Vespia says this:

Writing is a tricky business. It’s important to know all the tried and true techniques that will help mold and shape your novel or story. Once you learn those basics, however, it’s up to you to take what you’ve learned and throw out what you don’t need.”

A lot of it is pacing. Your scenes should develop in a way that builds toward an event or a question of what is to follow. The way you deliver that most effectively is with action.”

Click here to read more great advice on pacing in your story telling.

Being an Indie author (that means I self- pubbed myself) I know how it feels to get caught up in the dream realm of publication and success in it. I want to be just as sucessful as any other author and a year ago when I entered the self- publication world, that was exactly how I thought. A year later, I’ve learned a few things. One of which is called Reality. It’s ok to dream about sucess, but don’t just write for it. Don’t just write to get published. When writing, think about just that: writing. Focus on your work rather than all the stuff that could come later (hey it’s ok to dream…it drives us). Kamy Wicoff says just that and the way she explains it is a wonderful tale. Here’s the title to give you an idea. It’s the Story, Stupid! (Trying Hard Not To Think About Publishing While Writing)

“And now, as I am slogging through a difficult moment in writing my novel (the middle), wondering if it’s any good, I find myself thinking of this conversation again.  I need to focus entirely on my story, I know it.  But I am having trouble getting the “will anyone ever read this?” and “will it ever get published?” demons out of my head.”

Click here to read her article.

Now you need some writing tips on how you should write your masterpiece. Russel Blake has a few and they are very, very good!

 Write as though your life depends on it. This speaks to quality. Write each book as though it was the only one of yours anyone will ever read. Because if it isn’t good, it will be.”

Don’t be lazy. If a reader is to be expected to invest hours into reading your work, you owe the reader your very best effort. A shoulder shrug and the thought, “That’s good enough,” cheats you both.”

Click here to “write better“.

Ok now I need to add something benificial for my readers. After all there are readers as well as writers and being an Indie author, I need to cater to my readers as well. So who wants some great book recommends?  Who wants FREE ebooks? If I could see them, I am sure many hands went up. Have you heard of ENT (Ereader News Today)? Well, they’ve got a bunch of FREE Kindle book listings that make it convienent for you to pick from. Click here to go there.  Now here are a few recomends from me…

Two Moons of Sera (Vol. 1)Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble, a Paranormal Romance (Jolie Wilkins Series, Book #1)Farsighted (Farsighted Series)Be Still, My Love (Tess Schafer-Medium)Cinder: Book One in the Lunar ChroniclesUnder the Never Sky

The Key ( #1 Anna Kippling Series) Paranormal Romance/Epic Fantasy SeriesHalf-Blood (Covenant)The Boy in the Suitcase (.)

Ok, ok, I know I threw my book in there, but come on? I had to, wouldn’t you have? Well here are my recommends anyway. Need a yummy treat to munch on while you read? Heard of Tastey Kakes? Well their really good, at least in taste. Probably not so good for the hips, so stick to one or two:0)

Happy Reading and Tastey Cake eating!

Leave a Reply

